Donald Trump: Your Paranoia Is Not My Reality

Donald Trump:

Your paranoia is not my reality. Here are my personal realities:

Brilliant, kind, and extremely gifted physicians and professors of Muslim heritage. Inspiring and rewarding students wearing hijabs in my classes. Warm and loving African-American friends working with me for our churches. Kind and insightful Vietnamese and Latino people who share their professional expertise.  Chinese-American and Japanese-American friends.

Here is the reality for all of us who are true citizens of the United States of America:

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed. “                                       from the Declaration of Independence, July 4, 1776

“Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”
from “The New Colossus,” by Emma Lazarus, 1883

Our connections are greater than your terrified tantrums, and will outlast them.

Leave a Reply

